Main street, main attraction!!

[Main street Cafe, 505 Main street,Mordialloc]



Soooo, after a very long flight from Germany to melbourne via (Doha) I pretty much wrote the next off the next day sleeping and vegetating which was well needed as I would be working as of the day after!!!

The first beautiful Saturday after arrived was the perfect opportunity to catch up with my beautiful “brazilliant” friend Shyam. (yes that is a wordbaby of “Brazilian & brilliant”… Shy isn’t REALLY from brazil, just looks it, but he is just so brilliant!!) I was absolutely dying to feast on perfect Melbourne poached eggs accompanied by a perfect soy chai latte…and as Shy lives near mordy, he suggested “main street cafe” right in the heart of Mordialloc, Melbourne.

I caught the train down, and was literally greeted with the buzz that is “main street cafe” as I exited onto main street. So a big gold star for ease and accessibility.

Shy opted for a very healthy poached egg on sour dough with spinach-without hollandaise (Benedict without the guilt). And I in true form, ordered the “veggie patch”

When my chai latte came out, I was dancing in my seat as I had been craving it all this time in Germany.

Then I tasted it… It looked like a chai latte, was spicy like a chai latte but it was missing SOY!! I absent mindedly had thought all chai lattes were a beautiful marriage of soy and honey….fail… But it was a pretty good full cream milk chai latte at least…

Next, (more seat dancing) our amazingly presented meals were brought out by this gorgeous french waiter.

The 2 free range poached eggs were beautiful and wobbly and as I poked my fork through, the most luscious oozing of warm egg yolk soaked my sour dough…. I was in heaven…. Gooey, yolky, delicious heaven!!

This breakfast destination is no secret, nor is it even that new anymore… But to me, being my first breaky since Qatar plane food, I felt I had uncovered something really special….

The space is airy and buzzing with energy, smiles and satisfied tummies, easy to get to and easy to find, and most importantly-filled with cute waiters/waitresses… Oh!!!! I mean served a mean breakfast ;).

I hope to be frequenting this place often over the summer, and who knows I might be fluent in French by the end of it!! 🙂

. . .
Tastefully yours,
Joanna

Leave a Reply

